Let’s talk about underdogs.

An underdog is someone, usually in a competition, who isn’t expected to win. Right? Underdogs are all around us. I consider myself an underdog often. I feel like I work extra hard to accomplish the things I want because there isn’t anything just extraordinary about me at this time, I’m not the most beautiful or the smartest. People don’t just love me from the start and give me what I want. We’re probably all underdogs at some point in our lives. I say all of this because I had a pretty disturbing conversation about an underdog with someone who I honestly have always admired for the way that he seems unbiased and fair in decisions. He is choosing not to give the underdog a chance and I just feel like it has to do with the fact that she’s not the prettiest or best in social situations and I think this isn’t fair. This makes me want to pull for her that much more and honestly makes me appreciate him less for being oblivious to her big heart and hard work.

“The most beautiful people we have known are those who have known defeat, known suffering, known struggle, known loss, and have found their way out of the depths. These persons have an appreciation, a sensitivity, and an understanding of life that fills them with compassion, gentleness, and a deep loving concern. Beautiful people do not just happen.”

So if you’re an underdog, know that I’m pulling for you! and everyone who isn’t will eventually see that you shine brighter than the rest because you have known struggles!

That’s my rant for the day.

Look for my book review of That Boy by Jillian Dodd on Thursday!

xoxo

Ashley

4 thoughts on “Let’s talk about underdogs.

Leave a Reply

