Things I do that drive me crazy about other people.

So this morning as I was getting ready for my day, I got to thinking about things that people do that annoy me. (My husband left the light on in the garage and I was irritated at him.) This got me to thinking about things that I do, that I get mad at other people for. (What? Not me!)

I often stand in front of the refrigerator with the door open and stare. “HURRY UP! You’re wasting electricity!” Or I will open the fridge to get some ingredients out and leave it open while still getting more stuff out, or even until I’m done with said ingredients and ready to put them away. Now, if anyone else comes to my house and does this, or does this in front of me somewhere else, I’m immediately annoyed. (Don’t they know they’re letting the cold air out? Wasting electricity? You can open it back up if you want something else!) But alas I am very guilty of this very annoying trait.

I also have this problem with being quite the motor mouth. I know what you’re thinking, “you?? Really?” Yep. I’m guilty as charged. I sometimes really don’t know when to stop. But yet I find myself on the opposite end of a person JUST LIKE ME, and I’m thinking, “man, she really needs to learn when to stop.”

I’m overly apologetic. Running over a pothole- “oh! I’m so sorry!” Can’t help someone at work because they’re WAY not qualified (I know that’s not correct grammar), “I am really sorry Mr. SoandSo. I wish we could help you.” Handed the waitress one of the menus upside-down, “SORRY!” And on the other hand I’ll be the one telling my friend when she apologizes that our fitness class was cancelled, “for the love of God, don’t apologize! You didn’t know!” Some (most) circumstances just don’t need apologies. Just like “No.” Is a complete sentence, no need to apologize or explain!

Spending unnecessary money. I work at a bank so I can look at my account throughout the day. My husband has this terrible habit of buying snacks and drinks at the gas station with his debit card for under $2. It drives me CRAZY! Yet on a second look at my account, I have a steady stream of books coming off my debit card for odd amounts, $.99, $1.99, $2.99; who’s spending frivolous money now??

The biggest pet peeve of my own is letting people walk all over me, then complaining about it. WHY DO I/WE DO THIS!?? I don’t know the answer, but I wish I did! Perhaps one day we’ll get tired of being a welcome mat for people to dry their muddy shoes on and stand up and stop taking it.

I said all this to acknowledge that I, too, make mistakes. Nothing new here. Sometimes I just need to remind myself.

Until next time!

I got a little off this week, I’ll be reviewing Elle Casey’s Shine Not Burn tomorrow! Come back and check it out! 🙂

xoxo

Ashley

Leave a Reply

