I just want to be.

Some days it’s all I can do to make sure that my heart isn’t on my sleeve. Do you have those days? Where you just want to curl up in a ball and hide from the inevitable. Those nosy people who will quiz you, “What’s wrong??” Sometimes there isn’t just one thing wrong. Sometimes there truly is nothing wrong at all, my feelings are just getting in the way. On any given day I might be sad about something going on in my life, something going on in the life of someone close to me, or just something going on in the world in general. There’s a lot to be sad about. On the same token, there is a lot to be happy about. New life, people getting married to the “loves of their lives”, people being rescued from a seemingly helpless situation, etc. You see, the human race has so much to be concerned about. I don’t want to complain endlessly about things I wish would or wouldn’t happen. I don’t want to hash out my feelings to someone who probably doesn’t really care, who’s probably just being nosey. Sometimes, I just want to be. And I think that’s ok.

“I want to have friends that will let me be all alone, when being alone is all that I need.” – The Avett Brothers, Perfect Space

Leave a Reply

