2015 Wrap-Up

 

I wrote this post last week and I had intended to add in some pictures that are on a memory card and here we are a week later and 3 days after I wanted to post this and I haven’t gotten them yet. Scheduling blog posts should definitely be a new year’s resolution of mine. 😉 Here’s my wrap up sans pictures. If I have a chance tonight, I’ll add those pictures in! Happy New Year’s Eve, ya’ll! This is a magical time of year to me, full of hope for happiness and new experiences.

Some things I learned in 2015… I can’t be afraid to be myself. I’ve lived much of my life worrying about pleasing other people and it simply cannot be done. Too bad it took me 27 years to figure out! Also, some people will never change. No matter what we try to do, we cannot change people. Perhaps if they want to, but that is their prerogative. We will be forever disappointed if we keep trying to do it ourselves.

“Happiness is letting go of what you think your life is supposed to look like and celebrating it for everything that it is.”

I haven’t fully embraced this yet, but how perfect are those words? This year I have truly realized that happiness is something you create. If you aren’t happy, do something about it. Perhaps that contradicts the aforementioned quote, but what I mean to say is….if you aren’t happy with something in your life, change it. If you aren’t happy with yourself, change. If you can’t see a reason to be happy with your life, look around. There are so many beautiful reasons to be happy. Another true quote.

It’s just really been a rollercoaster, 2015. I’ve stepped outside my comfort zone in a lot of ways. I fought with my family. I warred within myself. I stood my ground. I changed jobs in a big way. I took two steps forward towards my dream of writing a book and I wrote the first draft.

 

There was a lot of forward movement and a lot of doubting. I am still not where I want to be at this point in my life, will I ever be? The best thing I can do is keep moving forward.

 

Some of the highlights of my year…

 

I went floating/canoeing for the first time.

 

I changed career fields completely.

 

I went on my first cruise.

 

I got a kitty. 😉

 

I won NaNoWriMo.

&&

I finished the first draft of my book!! (Mostly anyway. I’ve now decided to add in an alternating POV, but I digress.)

 

 

I can’t wait to see what 2016 will hold. I have a lot of goals and a lot of hope. That’s why I love the new year so much. 🙂 More on all that later. For now, be safe and be happy!

 

xoxo

Ashley

Leave a Reply

